Christian Life Community (CLC)

About Christian Life Community

Christian Life Community(CLC)

The Christian Life Community (C.L.C) traces its foundation to 1563, when the Jesuit John Leunis gathered a group of lay students at the Roman College to form the Sodality of Our Lady. The Sodality grew and was confirmed by Pope Gregory XIII in 1584. When the Second Vatican Council urged groups like the Sodality to rediscover their original roots, some sodalities continued as before, while others became Christian Life Communities. The main difference is in the size (6 to 12) and the regularity of meeting (weekly or biweekly).

The C.L.C draws its inspiration from the teachings of St. Ignatius of Loyola and receives spiritual guidance from the Jesuits. The experience of making the Spiritual Exercises of St Ignatius is of paramount importance to the members of the CLC. Members are encouraged to adhere to a lifestyle which is gospel-based and simple, to serve the poor and to integrate contemplation and action. As Ignatian spirituality has an essential apostolic dimension, members of the CLC do reflect also on how to bring Gospel values into all aspects of life in today’s world.

The C.L.C adopted its current name in 1967. Previously it was known as ‘Marian Sodality’.The C.L. C’s General Principles were approved in 1971 by Pope Paul VIth and revised in 1990. The World Christian Life Community is governed by the General Assembly, which determines norms and policies, and by the Executive Council which is responsible for their ordinary implementation.

The Rev. Fr. Jacob Kanat started the Marian Sodality at Edappally in 1912. Since then we actively engaged in enlivening the spiritual life of the youth of the parish. C.L.C is constantly giving all the support in the events occurring in the church during Holly Week, Easter, St. Georges Feast, Christmas etc. We also provide helps to the needy people wherever possible.

With the grace of god, new office cum prayer hall of C.L.C Edappally unit, situated under the St. George Forane Church, was inaugurated and blessed on 11th Sep 2022 by Rev. Fr. Antony Madathumpady. This office was built with the support of all C.L.C members, Parish council Members and our well-wishers.

Distribution of membership to the new members is taking place on Aug 15th of every year.

The regular meetings of the C.L.C Edappally unit is occurring on every Saturday at 7:45 am (Junior) and on every Sunday at 8:15 (Senior) at C.L.C office.

The current office bearers of the C.L.C, Edappally Unit are as follows;

Director: Fr. Antony Madathumpady

Promoter: Fr. Johnpaul Thettayil

Moderator: Sr. Reena Nellikunnath SABS

Archdiocese President: Anil Palathinkal

President: Abin Joshy Kandathil (Mob. No. 9567853717)

General Secretory: Envin Heyence Ambalathinkal (Mob. No. 9037407892)

Treasurer: Shinu Chacko Thayankery (Mob. No. 7250246878)

Vice Presidents: Geemon George Palliparambil & Christeena Kattuparambil

Joint Secretaries: Melvin Varghese Karukapallil & Greeshma Panattu

Coordinators: Antony Jose Pallassery & Ann Mary Palathinkal

Executive Members: Vinu Varghese Puthenveetil, Nikhil Joy Chingamthara, Nibin Babu Neriakkal, Ancil Paul Thekkananthu, Libin Boban Peruvelil, Dona Davis Valikodathu

From the Gallery
C.L.C Edappally Office Inauguration

Welcome to Edappally Church!

We are always open to people who loves to get in touch!!